Hide or Seek?

Posted: November 23, 2013 in Christian, Family
Tags: , , , , ,

I wrote this in May 2006.  It was originally published on another website, which is no longer available.  I thought it was worth revisiting. My son is now sixteen and bigger than I am.  Maybe he will not be too upset or embarrassed that I shared this one.

Hide or Seek?

My nine year old son has the morning task of making his bed and arranging his pillows and stuffed animals on top.

Hide_or_Seek

Recently my wife and I walked in to find this scene played out in his room. My, obviously right brained, son had envisioned a game of “hide and seek.” His sock monkey (Anson) is “it.” I have no idea how many critters are hidden in this montage. However, I am amused by the red and blue dinosaur at the far end. He has hidden his head, not realizing that his body is still exposed.

I began to think about how many times I do the same thing in real life. So many times, I want to cover my head and hide my face from my purpose, only to leave the rest of me exposed. Like Jonah, I soon learn that hiding from God’s calling, is never a good idea.

Now don’t get me wrong. I do not believe that I have felt God’s persuasive urging in the way Jonah did.

I can also think of too many times it has taken me longer than three days to “come to my senses” and follow God.

God placed each of us here for a purpose. When we are not faithful to His call, we are like this little dinosaur. Hiding our head and leaving the rest of us exposed and unprotected.

In searching the scriptures, I have not found a single instance where the word “hide” is used in a positive fashion. It is commonly used when people are hiding from God, because of their sin.

Adam hid from God, because of his sin.

Or worse, God is hiding His face because of the sinful ways of His people. Many battles were lost by the children of Israel, because God hid His face due to their disobedience.

In distinct contrast, the word “seek” is very different.

Deuteronomy 4:29 tells us that if we seek the Lord our God, we will find him, if we seek Him with our heart and all our soul.

In Proverbs 8:17 God tells us: “I love them that love me, and those that seek me early shall find me.”

God also told Jeremiah: “Ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart.” (Jeremiah 29:13)

Act 17:27 tells us that when we seek God, He is not far from every one of us.

God does promise us that when we seek Him, we will find Him. When we find Him, He will be our hiding place and shelter. When we hide, we cannot seek. When we seek, we do not need to hide.

When I think about it in this way, it does not seem like a child’s game any more. Just like Adam, Jonah, Jeremiah and all of our heroes of the faith, we have a choice.

Hide or Seek?

Leave a Reply

