Hmm… I Might Just Be a Liberal Christian

Posted: July 1, 2014 in Christian
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The more I read and study Scripture, the more firmly rooted my Christian beliefs become.  For many years, I would describe myself as anything but liberal.  However, after many years of daily consistent Bible study, I have come to the conclusion; I might just be a liberal Christian.

That may come as a shock to some of you, who know me.  But, I am absolutely convinced.

Why? Because, as I read Scripture, I realize more and more how liberal God truly is.

  • God offers grace liberally. – 2 Corinthians 9:8
  • God offers eternal life liberally, to whosoever believes. – John 3:16
  • God gives wisdom liberally, to all who seek him first. – James 1:5
  • God shows mercy liberally, to those that fear Him. – Psalms 103:17
  • God gives strength liberally, to those that wait on Him. – Isaiah 40:31
  • God blesses liberally, all who honor Him first. – Malachi 3:10
  • God gives joy liberally, to all who abide in His love. – John 15:11
  • God gives peace liberally, to those whose mind is steadfast on Him. – Isaiah 26:3
  • God gives life liberally, to all that trust in Jesus Christ. – John 10:10
  • God gives Himself liberally, to all who worship Him. – Ephesians 3:14-20

Looking at it this way, I believe I am a liberal Christian, serving a Liberal God.

Some of you are disappointed “Liberal” did not mean what you thought it would.  Others are thinking: “I might be a liberal Christian, too.”

What other ways have you found God to be liberal toward His people?

Comments
  1. ethanboggs says:

    Great concept! I’m a liberal Christian too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

