I’ve Learned

Posted: April 3, 2015 in Christian, Family, Leadership
Tags: , , , ,

It’s my birthday.  It has become my habit, on my birthday, to reflect on a lifetime of lessons learned.  So, here are a few off the top of my head.

I’ve Learned:

  • Salvation is all about Jesus and none about me.
  • Being a Christian is about a relationship, not a religion.
  • Promises are sacred and God’s promises are forever.
  • My opinion of God’s word is less important that my obedience to God’s word.
  • The Creator gave us creativity and we invented control.
  • When I resist God, I suffer.
  • A relationship without commitment is just an acquaintance.
  • True fiends are a priceless treasure and false friends are too plentiful.
  • All the events, circumstances and people in my life were placed there by God to prepare me for this moment.
  • The same hand that wrote the law in stone (Exodus 20), wrote my sin in sand (John 8) and redemption in blood. (Matthew 27)
  • Only as I love and respect others will I be able to love and respect myself.
  • Freedom is the result of letting go, not hanging on.
  • “Faith” is a verb.
  • “Hope” is a noun.
  • Blessings taken for granted are easily lost.
  • It is far easier to go from failure to success than it is to go from excuses to success.
  • The Bible always points to the true character of God.
  • Jesus loves me even when I am not lovable.
  • A Godly wife is a precious jewel. (Proverbs 31)
  • The “Power of God’s Word” and the “Word of God’s Power” cannot be separated.
  • A Godly Pastor should be quickly followed and an ungodly pastor more quickly fled.
  • God’s call on my life does not expire.
  • Prayer is about listening, not talking.
  • My need for accountability outweighs my desire to be accountable. (Proverbs 27:17)
  • God promises to supply all of my needs, not all of my wants. It is my responsibility to recognize the difference.
  • Believing in predestination does not excuse me from witnessing.
  • Believing in election means that I am still responsible for nominating lost souls.
  • There are some things I will never understand.
  • The more I learn the more I realize I do not know.
  • God is sovereign, just and holy.
  • God does not take a day off.
  • I am responsible for building a witness for my grandchildren tomorrow, through my children today. (Proverbs 13:22)
  • Stewardship is about life, not money.
  • As I age, my definition of “old” changes.
  • Even with a lifetime of learning behind me, I still have a lifetime of learning ahead of me.
  • I’m never too old to learn.
Leave a Reply

